King John’s Castle
Located on King’s Island, this site dates back to 922 when the Vikings ruled the Irish shores in numbers. The surviving castle was built on the orders of King John himself in 1200, and till this day is one of the best preserved Norman castles in Europe. King John’s Castle visitors centre tells the history of the site through excellent interactive exhibits and projections. This beautiful castle is located just north of the River Shannon in Limerick city.
Discover the fascinating collection gathered by John and Gertrude Hunt displayed at the Hunt Museum, 5 minutes’ walk from King John’s Castle. The permanent collection includes works by Picasso, Renoir, Gauguin, Giacometti and Yeats, jewellery once owned by Mary Queen of Scots, a Bronze Age shield and cauldron, early Christian objects and medieval masterpieces.